Click here for the phone directory
Traffic Ticket Information
A traffic citation has been issued for you to appear before the Shelby County District Court.
If you fail to pay or otherwise dispose of your case prior to the court date and fail to appear on your court
date, a warrant may be issued for your arrest, your driver’s license may be suspended by the Department of
Public Safety, the fine may be increased, and any bond posted may be forfeited. The Court date on your copy
of the ticket is NOT A TRIAL DATE; if you desire to plead NOT GUILTY and want a TRIAL, you must appear in court
on your court date to request a TRIAL DATE.
Tickets listed in the chart below may be paid by entering a guilty plea without a required
court appearance, provided you have not been convicted of two or more traffic offenses in the preceding 12
months. If you wish to avoid a court appearance and enter a plea of guilty, sign the Defendant’s plea of
guilty on the back of your copy of the ticket and attach your money order or cashier’s check for the amount
of fine and costs indicated and mail it to:
P.O. Box 1810
Columbiana, AL 35051
NO PERSONAL CHECKS. Personal checks will be returned causing a delay and late charges being assessed.
Your signed plea of guilty and money order must reach the Clerk’s office before your court date. If it does
not, a warrant may be issued for your arrest and your driver’s license may be suspended by the Department of
Public Safety, all without further notice to you.
For questions or payment please contact the Alabama Traffic Service Center at
traffic.alacourt.gov or by calling toll free
(866) 954-9399. Cases may be paid with a credit or debit card by calling (877) 252-7294.
TICKETS WHICH MAY BE PAID WITHOUT A COURT APPEARANCE
|Offenses||Fines and Costs|
|Speeding (less than 25 mph over limit)*||$196.00|
|Speeding (more than 25 mph over limit)*||$216.00|
|Driving on the wrong side of the road *||$206.00|
|Failure to stop at R.R. Crossing *||$186.00|
|Failure to yield Right of Way *||$196.00|
|Following too closely *||$196.00|
|Improper backing *||$196.00|
|Improper passing *||$196.00|
|Improper signal *||$186.00|
|Improper turn *||$196.00|
|Running Red Light or Stop Sign *||$196.00|
|Stopping on highway *||$206.00|
|Driving Without a License (Does NOT include Driving While Revoked, Canceled or Suspended)||$251.00|
|Failure to dim headlights||$186.00|
|Failure to use Safety Belt||$51.00|
|Failure to use Child Restraint||$201.00|
|Improper or no rearview mirror||$196.00|
|Improper window tinting||$196.00|
|No helmet (motorcycle)||$186.00|
|Violating Driver License Restrictions||$236.00|
|* Indicates offense is eligible for DRIVING SCHOOL (see below).|
NOTE: FINE AND COURT COSTS MAY BE GREATER IF NOT PAID BEFORE THE COURT DATE.
Please note that traffic violations not listed in the chart above cannot be paid without court appearance.
Defensive Driving School Options
If you have been charged with an offenses indicated with an asterisk (*) in the chart above, you may be
eligible to have your case dismissed upon completion of a Defensive Driving course and payment of court
costs. This will allow you to avoid a court appearance and will prevent the accrual of points assessed
against your Alabama Driver’s License as a result of this offense. To qualify for Driving School, you
- Be charged with an offense eligible for Driving School
- Have no more than one previous citation for a moving violation and have never been arrested for DUI, and
- Be approved for Driving School by the District Attorney.
To determine your eligibility for the Defensive Driving course, you must contact the Shelby County
District Attorney’s Office Traffic Unit within 7 days of receiving the citation. To expedite this
process, send an email to Shelbycountytraffic@alabamada.gov and be sure to include the UTC number (located in
the upper right of your ticket), your date of birth, and contact information. If you do not have an email
account, you may call the Shelby County District Attorney’s Office Traffic Unit at (205) 669-3750,
If you are approved for Defensive Driving your case may be dismissed upon payment of court costs after
your completion of driving school. If you are NOT eligible for driving school, you may still avoid a
court appearance by following the instructions at the top of this page.
Processing of No-Insurance Tickets
THE DEFENDANT IS NOT REQUIRED TO APPEAR IN COURT IF THE DEFENDANT DID HAVE LIABILITY
INSURANCE COVERING THE VEHICLE DRIVEN AT THE TIME THE TICKET WAS WRITTEN AND IF THE DEFENDANT CONCLUDES
THE MATTER BEFORE THE COURT DATE IN THE MANNER DESCRIBED BELOW:
For an out-of court settlement, Defendant may show proof of insurance, or mail proof of insurance, valid on date of citation, to the Clerk of Court
for dismissal prior to the assigned court date. If the Defendant appears at the Clerk's office to provide proof, Defendant
should bring the original proof of insurance and a copy of proof of insurance to leave with the Clerk. Defendant may mail proof of insurance to:
Mary Harris, Clerk of Court, P.O. Box 1810, Columbiana, Alabama 35051. Payment should be made by cashier's check or money order.
No personal checks will be accepted.
IF THE DEFENDANT DID NOT HAVE INSURANCE AND PURCHASED AFTER CITATION AND BEFORE COURT DATE, YOU CAN SHOW PROOF AND PAY $176.00 TO HAVE THE CASE
DISMISSED WITH CONDITIONS, BUT IF THE CASE IS NOT CONCLUDED BY THE COURT DATE, THE DEFENDANT MUST APPEAR IN COURT.
Court appearance is required on the assigned court date if Defendant desires a trial. Court appearance is required if the Defendant did not have liability insurance specifically
covering the vehicle driven at the time the ticket was written.
To avoid further court appearances, Defendant should bring to court all relevant documents at the first court appearance. For example, if the Defendant did not have insurance
at the time the ticket was written, but has obtained insurance, proof of the new insurance may result in a lower fine. Also, if the Defendant had insurance coverage on another
vehicle and the vehicle driven at the time of citation was newly purchased, the Defendant may bring proof of insurance on the other vehicle, proof of purchase of the newly
purchased vehicle described in the ticket and a statement from the insurance provider that the newly purchased vehicle was covered at the time of citation, although the Defendant
had not received the insurance card.